The Beatrice Hunter Cancer Research Institute logo
  • BHCRI Cancer Research Conference

    Monday, November 5, 2018
    - Tuesday, November 6, 2018

    • Time: 12:30 pm
    • Location: The Lord Nelson Hotel, Halifax, NS
    • Presenter: Various

    The 2018 BHCRI/TFRI Cancer Research Conference in Atlantic Canada will be held on 5-6 November 2018 at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, 1515 South Park Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
    This two-day event offers trainees the opportunity to present their research via poster or platform presentations. Guest speakers include faculty from local universities as well as National experts in various aspects of cancer care and research. The conference is open to all researchers and students throughout Atlantic Canada undertaking cancer-related research.

    Please view the tentative program

    For more information and to register, please follow the link:
    The deadline for registration is 4:00pm ADT October 22, 2018. There is no registration fee.

    Please note that attendance is mandatory for CRTP-funded trainees. For accepted abstracts, the required poster size is 4'x4'
    For questions, please contact


    Cancer Research Trainees in Atlantic Canada who are not part of the Cancer Research Training Program (CRTP) are invited to apply for one of ten travel awards in the amount of $500.00 each to support travel to the 2018 BHCRI/TFRI Cancer Research Conference in Atlantic Canada being held November 5-6, 2018 in Halifax.

    Trainees must be a member of BHCRI in order to be eligible to apply. Membership applications may be submitted with the bursary application for approval:

    For more information and to apply for the bursary, please download the application.



    Thank you to all attendees of the 2016 BHCRI/TFRI Cancer Research Conference in Atlantic CanadaRecent Advances in Cancer Research which was held on 7-8 November 2016 at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, 1515 South Park Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia.

    Please view the program.


    We couldn’t have done it without you!
    Without the assistance of so many, it wouldn’t have been possible to organize and execute this year’s conference. Thank you…

    • to all of the speakers who presented on a wide variety of interesting topics,
    • to all members of the BHCRI Training Committee and Research Committees for planning the program,
    • to the group of CRTP trainees who planned Day 1 events,
    • to all of the CRTP trainees who volunteered in so many capacities to ensure that the event went smoothly,
    • to Vino Rajan for organizing the volunteer schedule,
    • to all of the people who served as judges, and
    • to all of the attendees for participating.

    We hope that you found the conference informative and that you enjoyed the various sessions. We encourage those who attended to provide feedback via the website link on the back of the conference booklet. All feedback received will be considered when planning future events.

    Congratulations to all of the platform and poster winners!
    Platform Presentation winner: Livia Anthes         
    Poster Presentation winners:           
    Krysta Coyle
    Brianne Cruickshank
    Sebastien Delpeut
    Corey Filiaggi
    Thomas Huynh
    Barry Kennedy
    Youra Kim
    Benjamin King
    Gregory McCluskey
    Zoe O’Brien-Moran
    Lyzandra Pereira
    Meg Thomas
    Chi Yan


    Thank you to everyone who attended the 2014 BHCRI/TFRI Cancer Research Conference on Monday 3 November and Tuesday 4 November.

    This year's theme was: Child, Adolescent and Young Adult Cancer. Please view the program for more information.

    We would like to thank all of the volunteers who helped with the conference in any way – and hope that we haven’t missed anyone: Natasa, Derek, Krysta, Wasu, Andra, Eric, Ryan, Simon, Colin, Mo, Chungen, Vino and Ben. Special thanks to Anna Greenshields who served as photographer over the two days and to Moamen Bydoun for volunteering and for arranging for other volunteers to help us in a number of ways.

    Congratulations to the winners of the poster and platform presentation awards:

    Poster winners:

    • Dae-Gyun Ahn
    • Henry Annan
    • Niroshaathevi Arumuggam
    • Craig Ayre
    • Colin Brien
    • Jason Harquail
    • Logan Lawrence
    • Chungen Pan
    • Eric Pringle
    • Nicholas Sajko

    Platform winner:

    • Moamen Bydoun


    Each recipient received a personalized plaque along with a $100.00 cash prize.


    If you have not already done so, we hope that you will take a few minutes to complete a conference evaluation. The link may be found on the back inner cover of the conference booklet.





    For more information, please contact or phone 902-494-8970.

Site by: Spectacle Group